Police officer filling out a crash report in Texas

Car Accidents

How to Obtain a West Texas Crash Report?

Posted by: Kemmy Law Firm

When you’re involved in a car accident in Texas, your crash report is one of the most compelling pieces of documentation you’ll need. The information in the official car accident reports can help identify who was at fault and the conditions that contributed to your crash. If you hope to recover full compensation for the losses related to an auto accident, you must act quickly and gather the necessary evidence to support your claim. Here’s more on the Texas car crash report and how to obtain yours.

Texas Car Accidents Reports

There are several laws about what drivers must do after a car accident in Texas. In addition to stopping and rendering aid, you must report the accident immediately “by the quickest means of communication.”

Additionally, Texas law states that police must file a written accident report within ten days of an accident that caused severe injury or death. These reports must be submitted to the Texas Department of Transportation and are retained for ten years.

Who Can Order a West Texas Crash Report?

Texas Transportation Code §550.065 states that the Texas Department of Transportation must release information regarding a car accident to the following individuals:

  • Any person involved in the accident
  • The authorized representative of any person involved in the accident
  • A driver involved in the accident
  • An employer, parent, or legal guardian of a driver involved in the accident
  • The owner of a vehicle or property damaged in the accident
  • A person who has established financial responsibility for a vehicle involved in the accident, including a policyholder of a motor vehicle liability insurance policy covering the vehicle
  • An insurance company that issued an insurance policy covering a vehicle involved in the accident
  • An insurance company that issued a policy covering any person involved in the accident
  • Any person who may sue because of death resulting from the accident.

How to Obtain Your Texas Crash Report

You can obtain a copy of your crash report online or by mail.

Online Car Accident Reports

Once your crash report is submitted to the Texas Department of Transportation, you can visit their online purchasing system to obtain your copy. Regular copies of crash reports are $6. However, it costs $8 to get a certified copy, which is an official document that can be used for legal proceedings.

Don’t be alarmed if your report is not available immediately. Although the investigating officer has ten days to report the accident, your crash report may still be unavailable for 14 days.

Once you access the online purchasing system, you must provide one of the following :

  • The name of the person or company involved in the crash
  • The Driver License of a person involved in the crash
  • The Vehicle Identification Number of a vehicle involved in the crash
  • The TxDOT Crash IDs for one or more crashes

After entering this information, the crash ordering system requires you to indicate the county, city, and date of the crash—for example, Ector County, Odessa, July 15, 2023.

After submitting these details, you can click “Find My Crash Report,” the database will serve up your crash information.

Accidents Reports via Mail

To order your report through the mail, you must complete the CR-91 form and mail it to the following address:

  • Crash Data and Analysis

Texas Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 12879

Austin, Texas 78711

Keep in mind that this method of ordering your report takes up to 30 days.

How Accident Reports Benefit Insurance Claims

Texas law requires auto accident reports to include details that disclose the cause and conditions of the accident as well as the individuals involved. An accident report details the at-fault party’s name, contact information, and insurance providers.

This important information is even collected by an unbiased police officer, with the added benefit of being among the first at the scene. Officers can quickly gather crucial information and document details before emergency crews clear the road. They can also interview witnesses before they forget valuable information. The timing and details provided make an officer’s crash report one of the most reliable pieces of evidence in your case.

Injured in a Car Accident? Call Kemmy Law Firm

A Texas car accident report is significant evidence and increases your chance of receiving fair compensation for your injuries. If you’re struggling after a collision and need help with an accident claim, a West Texas car accident lawyer at Kemmy Law Firm can help obtain your crash report and other evidence and fight for your recovery.

To schedule your free consultation today, call Kemmy Law Firm at 210-750-1019.

Recent Posts:

What’s it Like to Live in a West Texas Man Camp?

How Do You File an Oilfield Accident Lawsuit?

What Are “No Zones” & How Can They Affect Your Truck Accident Claim?

Contact Kemmy Law Firm Today

(844) 334-4388 ONLINE FORM

Get a free consultation. We do not charge up-front fees, and you owe nothing unless you recover compensation.

When you work with us at Kemmy Law Firm, you are working with a family run firm with more than 50 years of combined experience. We are dedicated and successful trial attorneys practicing in West TX, Hobbs, NM, Midland-Odessa, and across the Permian Basin. Our team handles everything from catastrophic injury claims to complex business matters. We are here to fight for you. We dedicate our time and attention to your case and use every resource available to maximize your claim and obtain the best possible outcome.