Third Party Liability
Texas law requires all State drivers to have minimum liability insurance coverage, which only covers up to $25,000 for property damage; only $30,000 per person for bodily injuries; and a maximum of $60,000 for injuries for the entire accident. This is the basic legal requirement for all Texas drivers, which is not much. However, every policy is different and it is not uncommon for drivers to have larger insurance policies.
First Party, Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Claim
It is also not uncommon for an individual to be hit by a driver who a) does not have insurance, or b) does not have enough insurance to cover all of the resulting injuries and damages. For example, the Texas OLV system, TexasSure, posted data showing that as of August 29, 2016, 13.61 percent of all vehicles in the State were uninsured! This is where Underinsured/Uninsured Insurance (UM/UIM) comes into play.
At the costs of higher premiums, many individuals elect to purchase Uninsured/Underinsured Insurance (UM/UIM). Most UM/UIM insurance policies will provide insurance protection for bodily injuries in the range of $30,000 to $500,000, depending on the premiums paid. Unfortunately, filing an injury claim with your own insurance company is more difficult than it should be, even when it is only to recover the benefits that you paid for, and that was promised to you.
The Texas Supreme Court has come out with recent case law that overly protects insurance companies by limiting the rights of injured claimants. Many times, filing a lawsuit is necessary in order to recover the benefits of your own UM/UIM insurance.
Personal Injury Protection / Med Pay
In exchange for higher premiums, individuals can also elect to have PIP insurance. PIP stands for personal injury protection, and it is an extension of your car insurance that will cover medical expenses and, in many cases, lost wages—no matter who was at fault for the collision. PIP coverage usually ranges from $2,500 to $10,000 depending on the premiums paid.
Property Damage Claims
Property damage claims are separate from bodily injury claims. If your car was damaged in a car collision, you should be entitled to reimbursement for the repair costs, or the fair market value of the vehicle if it was deemed a total loss. We do not collect attorney fees for recovering your property damage. Call (210) 735–2233 for more information.